Aileen Colleran’s Blog

Partick, Politics and Passions

I wanna be elected..

Alice Cooper – what a great theme tune for the insanity of an election campaign. Are politicans and political activists living in a parallel universe ? Today was a beautiful sunny day with normal people going about their lives on a Saturday , whilst up and down the length of the country some dedicated people are living and working in Election Land.

Among the more bizarre things I’ve done in the course of campaigning was dancing in Sauchiehall Street in front of Donald Dewar with Pauline McNeill singing  (first ever appearance in the Herald diary as I admitted to Tom Shields that it wasnt the first time I’d danced in the street, but first time I’d done it sober)  – not forgetting the infamous Kelvin campaign bus with the red flags and George Galloway on the microphone (quite surreal in retrospect) –  so wandering around Kelvingrove Park with a piper, balloons and leaflets was not exactly off the chart…worked really well as it happens and so glad I suggested it..

I’ve got an official blog site on the Kelvin campaign website but I haven’t posted on there yet – mainly because I’m still trying to work out the value of blogging in the form most political sites take. The acid test has to be how many people interact with you – what’s the point of having a site that’s simply an electronic version of your leaflet, only surfed by the oppositon to find out what you’re doing ?

So am enjoying posting here – almost in secret – no-one’s found it yet, which is interesting. Think I will start posting on redkelvin.org but only if I can get some people to interact with me and respond to them .

April 14, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

