Aileen Colleran’s Blog

Partick, Politics and Passions

Redemption song

Unlike MSP’s , we are councillors right up until the stroke of midnight on May 2nd , so we are involved in official duties even though we’re up for election. The civic duty side of being a councillor is something I was familiar with from my family background – there’s evidence to support a theory that women who become ‘politicans’ (not a label I attach to myself) , usually have a family member involved already – my first exposure to civic hospitality was the investiture of my father’s brother as mayor of Bury , and for months after being elected, every time someone said “Councillor Colleran” , I looked to see where my uncle Arthur was.

Showing a Cuban trade unionist around the City Chambers this morning was an honour, and I was doing my best to remember all the interesting anecdotes connected with the building – sadly, the only one that sticks in my mind is that a portrait in the picture gallery of a former Lord Provost who was a woman, was painted by an artist who substituted his wife’s legs for the civic leader in the painting.

Chaired a fringe meeting for the STUC to highlight FACK (Families Against Corporate Killers) – to find out more check out http://www.hazardscampaign.org.uk/fack/

My brother’s a stonemason, but for a few inches and steel toe cap boots he couldve been a workplace casualty – a block of stone fell from a hoist and landed on him. Skin grafts and pain for months – just because he turned up to work in the morning.

April 18, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

