Aileen Colleran’s Blog

Partick, Politics and Passions

All Tomorrow’s Parties (Particks)

Am intrigued by the fact that anti-Tesco campaigners in Partick have set up a website called All Tomorrow’s Particks http://www.alltomorrowsparticks.org/, as the Velvet Underground track that must’ve been in the minds of those who chose that name is one of my ipod favourites. When I say I was a teenage punk, I must’ve been an embryonic Goth – listening to the Velvets , the Cure and the Cramps in my room with the curtains drawn even though it was a hot summer afternoon, and my parents enquiring fretfully as to why I wasn’t out in the fresh air. When I was agitating to go into town to watch bands in grotty damp basement venues, I’m sure they’d rather I was playing badminton or some other version of wholesome activity.

Someone recently returned some books I’d lent them- talk about long lost friends, why is it you always end up lending your favourite books to people and run the risk of never seeing them again ? It’s a measure of how I judge people , if someone doesn’t return a lent book, then ultimately they can’t be trusted. Still, got them back eventually – including Michael Herr’s Dispatches (best Vietnam book ever) , Seamus Milne ‘The Enemy Within : the secret war against the miners’ ( most chilling depiction of abuse of power and the secret state in Britain ever ), and Clifford Stoll’s ‘ Silicon Snake Oil’ – an interesting polemic that questioned the growing power of the internet in 1995. Not that I agree with the fairly negative analysis and slightly flat earth mentality, but he was right to question whether the internet educates or whether it’s a diversion from learning. Literacy and the ability to analyse and criticise are key skills – I’m still not sure how the net hinders or helps this. Anyway – some quotes from the book are food for thought ;

“anyone can post messages to the net. Practically everyone does. The resulting cacophony drowns out serious discussion ”

“Electronic communication is an instantaneous and illusory contact that creates a sense of intimacy without the emotional investment that leads to close friendships “

June 3, 2007 - Posted by | Local Issues: Supermarkets

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

