Aileen Colleran’s Blog

Partick, Politics and Passions

Paperback writer

Which was the first guess of the Primary 6 class in Broomhill Primary , when I asked them what they thought my former job connected to books was .. Along with editor, poet and journalist. The seventh guess was librarian !I was invited to take part in their Book Week and read from my favourite childrens book – a bit of a dilemma. How to choose an age appropriate book that was genuinely a childhood favourite that would be of interest to young people today ? (No point in choosing Harry Potter as I could hardly claim that as a book from my young reading days).
I read from “The Lion the witch and the wardrobe” by CS Lewis , which has always been an enchanting story – with allegorical undertones but as with the Lord of the Rings , also works as a good story well told.
I’m passionate about reading , especially as a way of empowering yourself as a child and young person – to read for yourself, instead of being directed by well meaning adults.. It’s about taking charge of your own education and making your own mind up. I was an obsessive reader , almost destined to be a librarian , resenting any activity that took me away from escaping into a book. That’s why picking a favourite from childhood was almost impossible – from Beatrix Potter to Thomas the Tank Engine to Wind in the Willows to Enid Blyton ( I know , but if we’re being honest..) to Arthur Ransome, Antonia Forrest, Roald Dahl, Elinor Brent Dyer.. Not to mention a crossover into adult fiction at an early age (for some reason the novels of Thomas Hardy and Jane Austen were on my library ticket before secondary school) – I do miss the serendipity of discovering books the way I did when I worked in the libraries (being paid to read..)but books are still very much part of my life and I find the charity shops in Partick are good for that – recently picked up David Niven’s “The Moons a Balloon” – an autobiographical classic that’s now out out of print.

October 27, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

3 Comments »

  1. Good pick! Which bit did you read?

    Comment by Alison | October 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. I read the chapter where Lucy first enters Narnia via the wardrobe – and then the bit where Edmund meets the white witch and eats the turkish delight that puts him under her spell !

    Comment by allabouteve | October 30, 2008 | Reply

  3. I know, I’m having great fun picking half term, just been to the orthodontist, just because and christmas books for my partners children. Its nice to know that they love reading as much as I do. So much of what we enjoyed is now oout of print as well

    Comment by Kat | November 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

